Ireland’s best restaurants revealed at annual awards

Cork restaurants take top two spots in Irish Restaurant Awards

Cork city and county were in the spotlight at the Irish Restaurant Awards 2024 on Monday evening when Aishling Moore, head chef at Goldie restaurant in Cork city, was crowned best chef and Dede at the Customs House in Baltimore was revealed as the restaurant of the year.

Moore, who recently published her first cookery book, Whole Catch, creates her seafood restaurant menus with sustainability at the forefront, using all of the fish, fin-to-gill.

Dede at the Customs House, co-owned by head chef Ahmet Dede and Maria Archer, was awarded two stars in the 2023 Michelin Guide.

Commissioned by the IT pic desk

Almost 1,200 chefs, restaurateurs and industry professionals attended the awards ceremony in the Clayton Hotel, Burlington Road, Dublin 4 on Monday evening. More than 160,000 public nominations were received in the first stage of judging of these awards, now in their 15th year. Regional awards were then made, before an industry expert panel met to select national and special award winners.


A popular winner in the Local Food Hero category was Lorraine O’Connor, representing the charity Muslim Sisters of Eire, which supports the homeless in a number of ways including soup runs and food delivery to those in need at Dublin’s GPO. Other overall winners on the evening included The Bishop’s Buttery at Cashel Palace Hotel in Cashel, Co Tipperary and The Olde Glen Bar, Restaurant & Bia Box in Carrickart in Co Donegal. Best newcomer was La Gordita in Dublin.

“During these undoubtedly tough times for our industry, celebrating Ireland’s food and hospitality offering is as crucial as ever. Above all, the awards give us the opportunity to recognise and celebrate the hard work of Ireland’s talented restaurant, cafe and food-led hospitality staff,” said Paul Lenehan, president of the Restaurants Association of Ireland, which administers the awards.

Irish Restaurant Awards 2024: The winners

Best Restaurant – Sponsored by San Miguel

Leinster: Clashganny House Restaurant

Ulster: Macnean House & Restaurant

Munster: Dede at the Custom House Baltimore

Connaught: Eala Bhán

Dublin: Chapter One Restaurant

All Ireland: Dede at the Custom House Baltimore

Best Chef – Sponsored by BWG Food Service

Leinster: John Kelly, Lady Helen Restaurant at Mount Juliet Estate

Ulster: Ciaran Sweeney, The Olde Glen Bar, Restaurant & Bia Box

Munster: Aishling Moore, Goldie

Connaught: Danny Africano, Lignum

Dublin: Eric Matthews, Kicky’s

All Ireland: Aishling Moore, Goldie

Outstanding Achievement Award – Sponsored by istil.38

TJ O’Connor

Best Restaurant Manager – Sponsored by Elavon

Leinster: Kasia Urban, Bramley Abbeyleix

Ulster: Anne Cannon, La Bella Donna Restaurant

Munster: Dermot Fetton, Earl of Thomond Restaurant at Dromoland Castle Hotel

Connaught: Gabriel Camburu, Buffalo Boy

Dublin: Prateek Vikram, China Sichuan Restaurant

All Ireland: Prateek Vikram, China Sichuan Restaurant

Employee Excellence Award – Sponsored by Peninsula

Leinster: Sophie Hogan, Hogan’s Farm Shop & Cafe

Ulster: Liam McKenna, Armagh City Hotel

Munster: Shane Gater, Mezze

Connaught: Catalina Gabriela Caltun, 56 Central Restaurant Cafe

Dublin: Lisa Freeley, Roly’s Bistro and Cafe

All Ireland: Sophie Hogan, Hogan’s Farm Shop & Cafe

Best Hotel & Guesthouse Restaurant – Sponsored by Frylite

Leinster: The Morrison Room at Carton House

Ulster: Catalina Restaurant at Lough Erne Resort

Munster: The Bishop’s Buttery at Cashel Palace Hotel

Connaught: George V at Ashford Castle

Dublin: The Saddle Room at the Shelbourne

All Ireland: The Bishop’s Buttery at Cashel Palace Hotel

Pub of the Year – Sponsored by Mad March Hare Poitín

Leinster: Begleys Bar

Ulster: The Garrick

Munster: Levis Corner House

Connaught: Freeney’s Bar

Dublin: Anseo

All Ireland: Begleys Bar

Best Casual Dining – Sponsored by Musgrave Marketplace

Leinster: Arán Artisan Bakery & Bistro

Ulster: The Square Bistro

Munster: Elbow Lane Brew and Smokehouse

Connaught: The Selkie

Dublin: Osteria Lucio

All Ireland: The Square Bistro

Best Gastropub – Sponsored by Molson Coors

Leinster: The Strand Cahore

Ulster: The Olde Glen Bar, Restaurant & Bia Box

Munster: Vaughans Anchor Inn

Connaught: The Huntsman Inn

Dublin: Gleesons of Booterstown

All Ireland: The Olde Glen Bar, Restaurant & Bia Box

Best Contemporary Irish Cuisine – Sponsored by FBD Insurance

Leinster: Statham’s by Pembroke

Ulster: 28 at the Hollow

Munster: Lagom Restaurant Kenmare

Connaught: Owenmore Restaurant at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel

Dublin: Potager

All Ireland: Lagom Restaurant Kenmare

Best Newcomer – Sponsored by Square

Leinster: Tābú

Ulster: Salumeria Mariuccia

Munster: Homestead Cottage

Connaught: Otto Pizza

Dublin: La Gordita

All Ireland: La Gordita

Best Wine Experience – Sponsored by Bibendum

Leinster: Ristorante Rinuccini

Ulster: Ora Wine and Tapas

Munster: The Dining Room at Park Hotel Kenmare

Connaught: Daróg Wine Bar

Dublin: Ely Wine Bar

All Ireland: Daróg Wine Bar

Best Customer Service – Sponsored by Provided by Dolmen

Leinster: Gralinn

Ulster: Noble

Munster: Aileen’s at Armada Hotel

Connaught: Rusheenduff Restaurant at Renvyle House Hotel & Resort

Dublin: Kicky’s

All Ireland: Rusheenduff Restaurant at Renvyle House Hotel & Resort

Best Café – Sponsored by Illy

Leinster: Bowe’s Foodhall & Cafe

Ulster: Ursa Minor

Munster: La Alegria Café

Connaught: Rogue & Co Cafe

Dublin: Happy Out x Together Academy

All Ireland: Happy Out x Together Academy

Best World Cuisine – Sponsored by San Pellegrino

Leinster: Sanjay’s Kitchen

Ulster: Chandpur Restaurant

Munster: Ichigo Ichie

Connaught: Funké – Afro Caribbean Restaurant

Dublin: 3 Leaves Blackrock

All Ireland: Ichigo Ichie

Best Sustainable Practices – Sponsored by Familia Torres

Leinster: Mueller and O’Connell Bakery

Ulster: No 14 at the Georgian House

Munster: Killarney Park & Ross Hotel

Connaught: Kai Restaurant

Dublin: Bread 41

All Ireland: Kai Restaurant

Innovator of the Year – Sponsored by Diageo

Leinster: Nóinín

Ulster: The Blue Goat

Munster: Rare 1784

Connaught: Builín Blasta Cafe & Bakery

Dublin: Amuri

All Ireland: Rare 1784

Local Food Hero – Sponsored by Flogas

Leinster: Pauline Dunne, Killowen Farm

Ulster: Johnny McDowell, Indie Fude

Munster: Siobhán Ní Gháirbhith, St Tola Goat Cheese Farm

Connaught: Patrick J Rigney, The Shed Distillery

Dublin: Lorraine O’Connor, Muslim Sisters of Eire

All Ireland: Lorraine O’Connor, Muslim Sisters of Eire

Best Cocktail Experience – Monin

Adrian McFadden, The Garden Room at the Merrion Hotel

Food Truck of the Year – Munch’d by Zoma

Misunderstood Heron

Best Learning and Development – Restaurant & Hospitality Skillnet

Fota Island Resort

Best Cookery School – Avonmore

The Edward Hayden School of Cookery

Best Private Dining & Club Restaurant – Cashel Blue Cheese

Fitzwilliam Lawn Tennis Club

Read More